Baker Street
Gerry Rafferty

Winding your way down on Baker Street
Light in your head and dead on your feet
Well another crazy day, you'll drink the night away
and forget about everything

Peak Chart Position
  • peaked at No. 2 on the Billboard Hot 100 chart in 1978
  • RIAA certified Gold record
  • peaked at No. 3 on the UK Singles chart in 1978
  • peaked at No. 4 on the Billboard Adult Contemporary chart in 1978
  • B-side: "Big Change In The Weather"
  • from Gerry Rafferty's second studio album, City to City (1978)
  • the first solo single to chart and the biggest hit for Gerry Rafferty
  • the first of five Top-40 singles charted on the Hot 100 by Gerry Rafferty in his career
  • sax solo: Raphael Ravenscroft
  • written by Gerry Rafferty
  • on the record:
         Gerry Rafferty - vocals
         Hugh Burns - guitar
         Nigel Jenkins - guitar
         Raphael Ravenscroft - saxophone
         Tommy Eyre - keyboards
         Henry Spinetti - drums
         Glen Le Fleur - percussion
  • the song was inspired by the Colin Wilson book, The Outsider and the title from the street in London
  • produced by Hugh Murphy
  • recorded at Chipping Norton Recording Studios, Chipping Norton, Oxfordshire, England
  • United Artists Records label
For content suggestions or to report problems with the site, contact us via email at: