Come Together
The Beatles

Here come old flat top
He come groovin' up slowly
He got jew jew eyeballs
He want holy rollers
He got hair down to his knees
Got to be a joker
He just do what he please

Peak Chart Position
  • No. 1 on the Billboard Hot 100 chart in 1969 for one week
  • RIAA certified Platinum record (2x)
  • peaked at No. 4 on the UK Singles chart in 1969
  • from the album Abbey Road (1969)
  • ranks #205 on Rolling Stone magazine's 2010 list of the 500 Greatest Songs of All Time
  • "Come Together" was banned from airplay by the BBC when it was released because the mention of Coca-Cola violated the BBC's advertising rules
  • John Lennon was sued by Chuck Berry's music publisher, Morris Levy, because of a lyric that too closely resembled a lyric in Berry's "You Can't Catch Me"; The Beatles' line was "Here come ol' flattop, he come groovin' up slowly" and Berry's "Here come up flattop, he was groovin' up with me"); Lennon settled the suit by agreeing to record three of the music publishers songs 
  • the last song that all four Beatles recorded together
  • on the record:
         John Lennon- lead vocal, rhythm guitar, electric piano, hand-claps
         Paul McCartney- harmony vocal, bass guitar
         George Harrison- lead guitar
         Ringo Starr- drums, maracas
  • written primarily by John Lennon, credited to Lennon/McCartney
  • originated as a campaign slogan song for Timothy Leary who was running for governor of California against Ronald Reagan in the 1970 election; Lennon brought the unfinished song to the Abbey Road sessions, where it was slowed down and Paul added what he called a "swampy bass-and-drums vibe"
  • produced by George Martin;  Martin: "If I had to pick one song that showed the four disparate talents of the boys and the ways they combined to make a great sound, I would choose 'Come Together'"
  • recorded at Abbey Road Studios, London
For content suggestions or to report problems with the site, contact us via email at: