Song Details More songs by Eagles
Hotel California
Eagles 1976 Hotel California LP

Mirrors on the ceiling,
The pink champagne on ice
And she said 'We are all just prisoners here, of our own device'

Peak Chart Position
  • No. 1 on the Billboard Hot 100 chart in 1977 for one week
  • peaked at No. 8 on the UK Singles chart in 1977
  • RIAA certified Gold record, RIAA certified Digital Platinum
  • from the Eagles fifth studio album, Hotel California (1976)
  • 1977 Grammy Award for Record of the Year
  • the song was inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame
  • ranks #49 on Rolling Stone magazine's 2010 list of the 500 Greatest Songs of All Time
  • the fourth of five No. 1 singles in the group's Hot 100 chart history
  • Don Felder was responsible for the memorable guitar riff in the song
  • on the record:
       Don Henley- lead vocals, drums
       Glenn Frey- 12-string acoustic guitar, electric guitar, backing vocals
       Don Felder- lead guitar, 12-string electric guitar, backing vocals
       Joe Walsh- lead guitar, organ, backing vocals
       Randy Meisner- bass guitar, backing vocals
  • written by Don Felder, Glenn Frey, Don Henley
  • Don Felder: I did a demo of the song at my beach house in Malibu.  I called it "Mexican Reggae".  After Don Henley wrote the lyrics, the version the band recorded was almost my demo verbatim.
  • producer Bill Szymczyk on the guitar ending: "I had a two-day period of Don Felder being on my left and Joe Walsh on my right in the control room figuring out all of those guitar parts. It was put together piece by piece, bit by bit, and there was a lot of experimentation and a lot of trial and error. It took us two days just to do all of the guitars on the ending, and it is one of the high points of my career."
  • the establishment on the Hotel California album cover is the Beverly Hills Hotel, Beverly Hills, CA
  • produced by Bill Szymczyk
  • length- 6:31
For content suggestions or to report problems with the site, contact us via email at: