How Will I Know
Whitney Houston
Houston Whitney 1985 How Will I Know 45

There's a boy I know
He's the one I dream of
Looks into my eyes
Takes me to the clouds above

Peak Chart Position
  • No. 1 on the Billboard Hot 100 chart in 1986 for two weeks
  • single released: November 22, 1985
  • RIAA certified Gold record
  • from Whitney Houston's debut album Whitney Houston (1985)
  • originally written for Janet Jackson who resided on the A&M label - after she passed on it, it was pitched to Arista Records where Whitney Houston was a newly signed artist
  • the second of eleven Hot 100 No. 1 singles Houston achieved in her career
  • backing vocals: Cissy Houston; Cissy is mother of Whitney Houston, aunt of Dionne and Dee Dee Warwick, and cousin of Leontyne Price
  • written by Narada Michael Walden, George Merrill, Shannon Rubicam
  • produced by Narada Michael Walden
For content suggestions or to report problems with the site, contact us via email at: