Jacob's Ladder
Huey Lewis & The News
Lewis Huey 1987 Jacobs Ladder 45
Step by step, one by one, higher and higher
Step by step, rung by rung climbing Jacob's ladder

-  co-written by Bruce Hornsby  -

Peak Chart Position
  • No. 1 on the Billboard Hot 100 chart in 1987 for one week
  • peaked at No. 17 on the Adult Contemporary chart in 1987
  • peaked at No. 19 on the Mainstream Rock chart in 1987
  • from Huey Lewis and the News' fourth album, Fore! (1986)
  • the third of three No. 1 singles charted on the Hot 100 by Huey Lewis & The News in their career
  • backing vocals: David Jenkins
  • Huey Lewis and the News:
         Huey Lewis - lead vocals, harmonica
         Chris Hayes - guitar, vocals
         Johnny Colla - saxophone, guitar, vocals
         Mario Cipollina - bass
         Sean Hopper - keyboards, vocals
         Bill Gibson - percussion, drums, vocals
  • written by Bruce Hornsby and his brother John Hornsby
  • produced by Huey Lewis and the News
  • mixed by Robert Missbach
  • recorded at Studio D Recording, Sausalito, CA
  • Chrysalis Records label
  • on March 14, 1987, "Jacob's Ladder" moved Bon Jovi's "Livin' On A Prayer" off the top of the Hot 100, which had held the position for four weeks
For content suggestions or to report problems with the site, contact us via email at: rpinfo99@gmail.com