Hall & Oates

Oh oh, here she comes
Watch out boy, she`ll chew you up
Oh oh, here she comes
She`s a maneater

Peak Chart Position
  • No. 1 on the Billboard Hot 100 chart in 1982 for four weeks
  • peaked at No. 6 on the UK Singles chart in 1982
  • RIAA certified Gold record
  • from Hall & Oates' eleventh studio album, H2O (1982)
  • the fifth of six Hot 100 No. 1 hits achieved by Hall & Oates in their career
  • the biggest hit single for Hall & Oates
  • Hall & Oates:
       Daryl Hall- vocals, guitar, keyboards
       John Oates- guitar, vocals, keyboards
       G.E. Smith- guitar
       Tom T. Bone Wolk- bass
       Charlie (Mr. Casual) De Chant- saxophone
       Mickey Curry- drums
  • written by Sara Allen, Daryl Hall, John Oates
  • John Oates: "The tune isn’t about a girl; it’s about New York City. ‘Maneater’ is about NYC in the ’80s. It’s about greed, avarice, and spoiled riches. But we have it in the setting of a girl because it’s more relatable. It’s something that people can understand. That’s what we do all of the time.”
  • produced by Daryl Hall, John Oates
  • mixed by Hugh Padgham
For content suggestions or to report problems with the site, contact us via email at: