People Got To Be Free
The Rascals
Rascals 1968 People Got to Be Free 45

All the world over, so easy to see
People everywhere just wanna be free
Listen, please listen, that's the way it should be
Peace in the valley, people got to be free

Peak Chart Position
  • No. 1 on the Billboard Hot 100 chart in 1968 for five weeks
  • peaked at No. 14 on the R&B Singles chart in 1968
  • RIAA certified Gold record
  • from The Rascals' fifth studio album, Freedom Suite (1969)
  • the biggest hit and the third of three No. 1 singles charted on the Hot 100 by The Rascals in their career
  • The Rascals:
         Felix Cavaliere - vocals, organ, piano, backing vocals
         Eddie Brigati - vocals, backing vocals. conga drums, tambourine
         Gene Cornish - guitar, vocals, backing vocals
         Dino Danelli - drums
  • written by Felix Cavaliere, Eddie Brigati
  • produced by The Rascals
  • arranged by Arif Mardin
  • engineered by Adrian Barber
For content suggestions or to report problems with the site, contact us via email at: