Eric Clapton

I don't care if you never come home,
I don't mind if you just keep on
Rowing away on a distant sea,
'Cause I don't love you and you don't love me

Peak Chart Position
  • peaked at No. 9 on the Billboard Hot 100 chart in 1979
  • peaked at No. 6 on the Adult Contemporary chart in 1979
  • peaked at No. 37 on the UK Singles chart in 1978
  • from Eric Clapton's sixth studio album, Backless (1978)
  • the seventh of seventeen Top-40 singles charted on the Hot 100 by Eric Clapton in his career
  • vocals on "Promises": Eric Clapton and Marcy Levy; Levy's vocals can also be heard on Clapton's 1978 hit "Lay Down Sally" - later in her career Levy joined up with Siobhan Fahey to form the group Shakespears Sister
  • album personnel:
         Eric Clapton - guitars, vocals
         Dick Sims - keyboards
         Marcy Levy - vocals
         George Terry - guitar
         Carl Radle - bass guitar, vocals
         Jamie Oldaker - drums, percussion, vocals
  • written by Richard Feldman, Roger Linn
  • produced, engineered by Glyn Johns
  • RSO Records label
For content suggestions or to report problems with the site, contact us via email at: