The Beatles
Beatles 1968 Hey Jude Revolution 45

You say you want a revolution
Well, you know
We all want to change the world
You tell me that it's evolution
Well, you know
We all want to change the world

Peak Chart Position
  • peaked at No. 12 on the Billboard Hot 100 chart in 1968
  • single released Aug 26, 1968 (U.S.)
  • from The Beatles compilation album Past Masters (1988)
  • the song appeared in three different versions, a charged-up electric "Revolution", a slowed "Revolution 1" and a third heavily experimental "Revolution 9"; "Revolution" was released as a single (45rpm) while "Revolution 1" and "Revolution 9" appeared on The Beatles (white album)
  • this 45rpm version was the B-side of the "Hey Jude" single and featured distorted guitars and an electric piano solo by session musician Nicky Hopkins
  • the distorted guitar sound heard on "Revolution" was achieved by putting the guitars through the recording console which caused the channel to overload and create the fuzz sound
  • on the record:
         John Lennon- vocals, lead guitar, handclaps
         Paul McCartney- bass, Hammond organ, handclaps
         George Harrison- lead guitar, handclaps
         Ringo Starr- drums, handclaps
         Nicky Hopkins- electric piano
  • written by John Lennon, credited to Lennon/McCartney
  • the song was written in Rishikesh, India when Lennon and The Beatles visited the Maharishi Mahesh Yogi at his meditation retreat
  • produced by George Martin
  • recorded July 10 and 11, 1968 at Abbey Road Studios, London
For content suggestions or to report problems with the site, contact us via email at: