Stand By Me
Ben E. King

When the night has come
And the land is dark
And the moon is the
Only light we'll see

Peak Chart Position
  • peaked at No. 4 on the Billboard Hot 100 chart in 1961
  • peaked at No. 27 on the UK SIngles chart in 1961
  • reissued in 1986 after it was featured in the Rob Reiner film Stand by Me - peaked at No. 9 on the Hot 100
  • from the Ben E. King album, Don't Play That Song (1962)
  • written primarily by Ben E. King while still a member of The Drifters - he offered it to the band but they showed no interest - King then showed it to Leiber & Stoller who helped complete the tune
  • the song was inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame
  • ranked as the fourth most performed song of all time by the performing rights organization BMI
  • ranks #122 on Rolling Stone magazine's 2010 list of the 500 Greatest Songs of All Time
  • the scraping sound heard during the intro was done with a Latin-American percussion instrument called a guiro and was played by Phil Kraus
  • on the record:
       Ben E. King - vocals
       Ernie Hayes - piano
       Al Caiola - guitar
       Charles McCracken - guitar
       Lloyd Trotman - bass
       Gary Chester- drums
       Phil Kraus - percussion (guiro)
       Elise Bretton, Lillian Clark, Myriam Workman - backing vocals
       Romeo Penque - reeds
  • written by Ben E. King, Jerry Leiber, Mike Stoller
  • produced by Jerry Leiber, Mike Stoller
  • recorded October 27, 1960 at Atlantic Studios, New York City
  • featured in the 1986 film Stand by Me starring Wil Wheaton and River Phoenix
  • Atco Records label
For content suggestions or to report problems with the site, contact us via email at: