Sunny Afternoon
The Kinks
The tax man`s taken all my dough
And left me in my stately home
Lazing on a sunny afternoon
Peak Chart Position
  • peaked at No. 14 on the Billboard Hot 100 chart in 1966
  • No. 1 on the UK Singles chart in 1966
  • single released: June 3, 1966 (UK), July, 1966 (US)
  • from The Kinks' fourth studio album, Face to Face (1966)
  • the eighth of  twelve Top-40 hits charted on the Hot 100 by The Kinks
  • on the record:
         Ray Davies - lead vocals, rhythm guitar
         Dave Davies - lead guitar, backing vocals
         Pete Quaife - bass guitar, backing vocals
         Mick Avory - drums, percussion
         Nicky Hopkins - harmonium
         Rasa Davies - backing vocals
  • written by Ray Davies
  • the song's inspiration for Ray Davies came from the high levels of progressive tax taken by the British Labour government
  • produced by Shel Talmy
  • engineered by Alan McKenzie
  • recorded May 13, 1966 at Pye Studios (No.2), London, England
For content suggestions or to report problems with the site, contact us via email at: